Governor's Multicultural Awards

The 2015 Governor's Multicultural Awards

South Australia is greatly enriched by our diverse cultural communities and these awards celebrate South Australians who promote multiculturalism and increase understanding of the benefits of cultural diversity in our community.

On Tuesday 22 March 2016, over 400 people attended a celebration of South Australia's cultural diversity which included the presentation of the 2015 Governor's Multicultural Awards. The event was hosted by His Excellency, the Honourable Hieu Van Le AO, Governor of South Australia, in the grounds of Government House.

Of the 28 finalists recognised, 14 winners were awarded for the following award categories:

  • Arts and Culture (individual and organisation)
  • Community Sector (individual and organisation)
  • Media
  • Public Sector
  • Volunteer
  • Senior Volunteer
  • Youth (individual and organisation)
  • Outstanding Individual Achievement

All nominees and their nominators were acknowledged and congratulated for their work in promoting the benefits of cultural diversity, social harmony and inclusiveness in our South Australian community.

Colourful performances by Zaffit SA, Studio Flamenco, Mexican Social and Cultural Association of SA and the Sounds of Brazil were a highlight of the event, as was the visual presentation by Dr Jeff Nicholas on The Streets of Adelaide: A map of Cultural and Social Inclusion in Colonial South Australia.

The Governor's Multicultural Awards are administered by Multicultural SA and presented by the Governor of South Australia, on the advice of an independent judging panel chosen in consultation with the Multicultural Communities Council of SA.

List of 2015 Awards Winners (PDF 304.5 KB)

Media release

Photo Caption: Winners of the 2015 Governor's Multicultural Awards with His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AO.

Photos of the 2015 Governor's Multicultural Awards can be accessed on Flickr.

For further information on the Awards please telephone Kylie on (08) 8415 4327 or email